On Being Pregnant

7 weeks pregnant today and counting… The joy we have was overwhelming when Rocky and I first learned of our pregnancy last November 2, 2013. I have my regular menstrual period every month with 28 days cycle each and being delayed for 10 days means that I am indeed PREGNANT! For two years that we’ve been married, we pledged to God that on our first year together we will give our time to him and dedicate ourselves towards the campus ministry and to enjoy our relationship just like a boyfriend and girlfriend does. It was an amazing time getting to know my husband better, just the two of us and to devote our time, talent and treasure solely for the Lord. This year, we started praying that God will grant our desire for a family and crossing our fingers for TWINS! 10 months later, God has heard our prayers and to realize that a lot of people are praying with us is already a blessing in itself.

Hubby and I were quite nervous when I did the pregnancy test, although we’ve been suspecting it for a while now we just wanted to make sure and to see it with our own eyes the + sign across the PT. To our delight the test kit was screaming POSITIVE all over and we thank the Lord for opening my womb! Our families were overjoyed with the news and I can imagine the heavens rejoicing with us for such blessing.

Our first OB check-up went well, except that I have to be treated for Urinary Tract Infection. The medicine isn’t too friendly and I’m now experiencing episodes of nausea and vomiting. I am always hungry and my tummy is crying out for FOOD! I didn’t expect it would be like this, but my mom’s advice was to prepare lots of food at home and bring something to munch on wherever I go and even stock food under my pillow so that if I ever go hungry during sleep I can just grab some to calm my hungry tummy, haha Well her advice works magic on me! They say the first 3 months won’t be too pleasant but even if it isn’t, I pray that God will grant me strength and peace to endure this experience.

I am blessed to have a supportive husband who understands my needs! I am excited for us to become parents to this wonderful child. We may not know the gender yet, but we already have a list of names lined up and praying for it one by one declaring the power of Jesus over that name!

Maternity at it’s best for the glory of God! :)

Leave a Reply

