Blessed at 18 Weeks

I always wondered how it would feel like to be pregnant. I think that most people when they were kids tried pretending to have a bump of some sort on their tummies beneath their clothes. Haha! Though it’s a funny sight to see, at one point in my adolescent years I became dreadful of the idea of becoming pregnant. I heard several stories from friends and families of a teenage mom, young as 9 years old, ‘poor kid with a kid!’ And my mom would always tell me to take care of my womanhood, not to give your virginity to your boyfriend, only to your husband, ‘wag e surrender ang bandila!’ quote and quote. For how many years, my mom’s words rang like an endless echo all around me. It was like a shield protecting me from the dangers this world might offer. Now that I am pregnant to my 18 weeks old baby, I have come to understand her words and that those words are there to guard my whole being just as I would like to protect this young life in my womb.

Psalm 127:3

“Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD, and the fruit of the womb is his reward.”

Isaiah 49:15

“Can a woman forget her nursing child, that she should have no compassion on the son of her womb?”

Aside from the different advises I get from our clinic OB’s and other mom’s, I make sure to read on the internet my babies development every week. If I don’t feel good or if I am experiencing something not so usual I run to books or websites that will allow me to understand my current condition.  I have lots of questions in mind and though it would take me a lifetime to learn, relearn and unlearn stuff about parenting—I’m up for the challenge!

My pregnancy adventures allowed me to appreciate this God-given unique experience of being a woman. My husband too enjoys this time with me sometimes being moody and all of a sudden elated. Haha! When I lie down on bed, I would touch my belly and talk to the baby and feel a faint movement which makes me so excited to actually know that there is another life inside me! It’s amazing how God can create such beauty from within; not even visible to the human eye yet the wonder it brings when the baby goes out is enthralling. We are indeed made for his glory!

1 Timothy 6:15

“Our God is the blessed and only Sovereign, the King of kings and Lord of lords!”18-weeks.jpg

Leave a Reply

