On What Really Matters

Then and now…

The social media world has truly reshaped minds and redefined society today. Years ago, life was so much simpler with people just letting each other know what time they will meet up and where. There was no mobile phones to text and say “hey, I’m on my way” or “I’m here!”. No social media to broadcast your whereabouts, what your latest gadgets are and what you bought from your shopping spree. Times have changed tremendously that it scares me to think that someday my son will witness in his generation the fast turn around of modern technology. Probably, there will be no more touch screen gadgets, only the mind controlling it without having to say anything. People will be less active and interaction may be completely GONE (it is evident nowadays, how much more in the future?).

I have to admit I am glued to the internet most of the time, it’s part of my job and I get to scroll my social media always. Whenever I check out my news feed, I see friends and relatives show off their latest travel destinations. I felt a pang of jealousy and I got dismayed because I can hardly do any of those for the reason that we have no budget for a trip right now.

Luxurious living is nice, who doesn’t want that? I dream that one day I can bring my family with me for a European trip or spend a week in a cruise ship. Then I read an article from another blogger who shared same sentiments with me. I am reminded again that life is not all about material things, because money alone will not make us happy. Thank you Lord for the open rebuke! It’s only a matter of perspective. What do you really need right now? Will a vacation to Europe make me satisfied for life? Or will it only bring me temporary happiness? After getting what I want, what’s next?

Social media has magnified every single thing people do. It gives us the idea that no one should ever live a miserable life that’s why we post what will make us look rich, or good and pleasing.

When others see it, they will start to feel like they’re not living the so called ‘perfect life’ by comparing the life they have with others.

I pray that our joy and contentment will be found in Christ alone (this applies to me too).

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things. Philippians 4:8

Let us focus on eternal things rather than temporary ones. Temporal things may give us happiness but only for a little while, when we seek contentment in God, we will find that this pleasure will last us longer than we could ever imagine.

I am grateful that there never was a day that my family went hungry, God provided for everything that we need and he will continue to do so.

Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. Matthew 6:33

I will still continue praying that God will one day fulfill my dreams of travelling around the world, having our own house and car. I will never stop dreaming. As I’ve said, it’s only a matter of perspective. God knows our heart’s desire, he knows our intention like the vary palm of his hands. It may not be answered now or anytime soon, what matters is all our needs at the moment are met. That’s who our God is, faithful and true.

And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19

His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. 2 Peter 1:3

All glory to him who is able! 🙂

Leave a Reply

