Test of Character

Where’s Your Values?

Last week, I was given a series of tests and it has nothing to do with my physical body or the mind but it was for my heart. It was a test that revealed my character in the midst of adversity. My integrity was at stake but who would’ve thought I’d give in and compromise my values?
It’s true that even the strongest man may fall, a sturdy trunk may break and a well constructed building may collapse. Nothing and no one in this world is perfect, we are all vulnerable to make mistakes.

So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall!

1 Corinthians 10:12

I was very disappointed with myself for not successfully passing these tests but God taught me that more than my pride there is so much more that I need to consider before thinking about myself.

Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus,

Romans 8:1

If I wasn’t a mom yet I’d prolly be able to get away with that mistake without bothering what the consequences will be. This time it was different, I thought about Paul and what the impact will be to him had he known what I did. God poked me and reminded me how I should be fixing my eyes on him and not on the burdens that I am carrying.

The tests are God’s way of disciplining, correcting and rebuking me so I would become a better wife, a better mom, a better daughter and a better friend/lifegroup leader.

He disciplined me because he loves me and I learned from it the hard way. Yes, I’ll pay the price but to me it is a good thing to be corrected so I will not repeat the same mistakes again.

God you are loving, faithful and true. You know me from the inside out! Thank you for your rod of discipline that opened my eyes to see how imperfect I am, yet in my imperfection you have welcomed me in your arms perfectly. Thank you that through this incident I was able to learn from it so I can become a good mother to Paul and will impart to him the lessons I’ve learned. I pray for a Christ like character in me and my family, In Jesus Name I pray. Amen

For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.
1 Samuel 16:7b

Leave a Reply

