Go and Make Disciples!

When Pokemon says go, you GO! When God says GO, would you?

Today was my first time to play Pokemon Go. Although this game have taken the world by storm, I am personally not “lured”, not a fan and not interested to download and play it at all. My husband was driving when he convinced me to play it on his behalf so he can get more Pokeballs (or Razz Berries) everytime we come close to a Pokestop. These terms sounded so out of this world to me considering I have not watched Pokemon when I was a kid.

The submissive wife that I am gave in to my husband’s request with a few sermons (don’t play when you’re driving or you’re just wasting your time playing this nonsense). Though I was a first timer, I was surprised that it was actually easy to play with. It’s a child friendly game that even my 26 months old son can play it so well through one time tutorial.

I got curious why it was called ‘Pokemon Go’ but playing it I quickly got the idea that you really have to go, catch Pokemon, get cool items from Pokestops and explore the world!

This may seem like a good game telling you to stand on your feet and walk around, I can’t help but ask how many Christians do that nowadays in order to make disciples?

Matthew 28:19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit…

Matthew 24:14 And this gospel of the kingdom will be proclaimed throughout the whole world as a testimony to all nations, and then the end will come.

Psalm 96:3 Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples!

It’s easy to get lured with what the world has to offer but why is it hard for us to do the will of the Father? The command was simple, God said to “GO and MAKE DISCIPLES” and here we are walking around in circles, questioning God what does he want us to do? We always have an excuse whenever we get invitations to go to church, join small groups or reading the Bible, but watching movies, going out for a walk to play Pokemon Go and scrolling our Facebook news feed for hours doesn’t bore us.

God is only asking a few minutes of our time each day and we can’t seem to give it to Him. He wants us to GO and make time for Him in reading his word and He definitely wants us to GO and meet his people to fellowship with one another. Stop procrastinating and make time for the Lord.

Matthew 16:15 He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation.”

Prayer:

Dear God, teach me to walk in your ways and do what you say. It is often hard for me to understand your will but in trust and obedience I will do as you please. I will not let earthly things take its toll in my life, I find no pleasure in them. I pray that love and compassion for the lost will take its place in my heart that I may go and make disciples in your name. In Christ name I pray. Amen.

make-disciples-16x9.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

